The British Entomological and Natural History Society (BENHS)

BENHS is for everyone who cares about and is fascinated by the natural history of insects and other invertebrates. We promote their identification, recording and conservation throughout the British Isles in collaboration with our affiliated societies.

Since our foundation in 1872, we have welcomed beginners as well as experienced entomologists. Members receive four copies a year of our highly respected journal and get special discounts on society publications, which include key sources for the identification of particular insect groups. They can also attend a variety of field, indoor, workshop and virtual meetings providing practical skills in entomology in an enjoyable and engaging fashion. Our extensive library and insect reference collection are available to view, on open days, or by appointment at our purpose built headquarters.

BENHS Council and Committees 2021 as at 1 April 2022

The members recommended by Council as Officers or Ordinary Members of Council for 2022-2023 under Bye-Law 7 (a) are:

VICE-PRESIDENTS S. Judd & Z.M. Simmons
EDITOR J.S. Badmin
CURATOR P.J. Chandler
SALES M.D. Darby

ORDINARY MEMBERS OF COUNCIL: K.D. Brown, J.F.H. Cole, L. Crowley, L.J. Evans-Hill, A. J. Halstead, R.D. Hawkins, P.T. Harding, I.D. Masters, G.M. Orledge, M.S. Taylor.

CUSTODIAL TRUSTEES: D.J.L Agassiz & D. Stimpson.

Assistant Treasurer R.D. Hawkins
Membership Secretary A.J. Halstead
Field Meetings Secretary Vacant
Regional Secretary Vacant
Webmaster L.J. Evans-Hill
Assistant Webmaster M.S. Taylor
Assistant Buildings Manager J.F.H. Cole
Student Liaison Officer G.M. Orledge
Invertebrate Link representative A. Halstead & C.M. Watts
Patrick Roche Trust D. Stimpson
Affiliate Societies Contact P.T. Harding
Representative from BMIG P.T. Harding
Representative from BPGS Vacant
Representative from BWARS R. Dawson
Representative from Dipterists Forum M.S. Taylor
Representative from ESB K.D. Brown
Finance Committee R.J. Barnett*, T.J. Dillon, J.P. Flynn, R.D. Hawkins, S. Judd, I.D. Masters, J.W. Phillips, A.J. Pickles & Z.M. Simmons
Communication & Events Committee J.S. Badmin, R.J. Barnett, S.P. Clancy, L.J. Evans-Hill, P.T. Harding, S. Judd, S. Lings, I.D. Masters*, Z.M. Simmons, M.S. Taylor & C.M. Watts
Building & Heritage Assets Committee M.V. Albertini, R.J. Barnett*, P.J. Chandler, J.F.H. Cole, S. Judd, S. Lings, I.D. Masters, Z.M. Simmons & I.R. Sims
Library Committee R.J. Barnett, P.J. Chandler, R.D. Hawkins S. Judd, I.D. Masters, Z.M. Simmons & I.R. Sims*
Publications Committee J.S. Badmin, R.J. Barnett*, M.D. Darby, A.J. Halstead, R.D. Hawkins, S. Judd, I.D. Masters & Z.M. Simmons
Editorial Panel D.J.L. Agassiz, J.S. Badmin*, R.D.G. Barrington, P.J. Chandler, B. Goater, A.J. Halstead, R.D. Hawkins, P.J. Hodge & M.J. Simmons
BENHS Research Fund Committee J.S. Badmin, R.J. Barnett, J.P. Flynn, A.J. Halstead, P.T. Harding, S. Judd, S.R. Leather, I.D. Masters, Z.M. Simmons & A. Spalding*
Website Committee L.J. Evans-Hill, A. Spalding & M.S. Taylor
Affiliations Working Group P.T. Harding
Conservation Working Group A.J. Halstead & C.M. Watts
Accuracy of Species Recording Working Group J.F.H. Cole, L.J. Evans-Hill, P.T. Harding, K. Lugg, I.D. Masters*, G.M. Orledge, J.W. Phillips, I.R. Sims, A. Spalding, M.S. Taylor & C.M. Watts

BENHS Groups and lead members:

European Group A.J. Pickles
Saproxylic Group K.N.A. Alexander
Student Group L. Crowley


Become a BENHS member – prices start at only £8 a year